Subcommittees & Assignments

FY18 Subcommittees & Assignments
The work of the Acton-Boxborough Regional School Committee goes far beyond its twice monthly meetings. Subcommittees allow for a more detailed focus on a variety of topics. External assignments present committee members the opportunity to both broaden the scope of their understanding on an array issues, as well as serve as advocates for the school to the greater community.


Policy Subcommittee
Click here for a link to the district's policies.
Maya Minkin (chair)
Kathleen Neville
Tessa McKinley
Diane Baum
Eileen Zhang
Budget Subcommittee
Click here for a link to the district's budget.
Brigid Bieber (chair)
Deanne O’Sullivan
Mary Brolin
Amy Krishnamurthy
Kathleen Neville
Operating Protocols Visioning Subcommittee  TBD
Warrant Signature Subcommittee
MGL 71:16A allows regional school committees to establish
a subcommittee of not less than three members to sign payroll
and accounts payable warrants. 

Deanne O’Sullivan
Paul Murphy
Maya Minkin
Mary BrolinAmy Krishnamurthy

School Committee Working Groups/Task Forces/Advisories Committees

The School Committee assigns representatives to these groups. 

Minuteman Technical Vocational High School Working Group Diane Baum
The Superintendent's Safety Task Force Maya Minkin
Brigid Bieber
The Superintendent's Wellness Advisory Committee Brigid Bieber
Tessa McKinley

Liaisons to Groups Serving the Acton-Boxborough Public Schools

Special Education Parent Advisory Council (SEPAC) Diane Baum
Maya Minkin
Parent Teacher Organization Roundtable Deanne O'Sullivan
Diane Baum
Tessa McKinley

 ​Liaisons to Town Boards and Municipal Groups

Acton Board of Selectman and Finance Committee
Boxborough Board of Selectman and Finance Committee
Acton Leadership Group
Boxborough Leadership Forum
Acton Health Insurance Trust  Mary Brolin
OPEB (Other Post Employment Benefits) Amy Krishnamurthy

Liaisons to Groups Beyond Acton & Boxborough

EDCO Roundtable Diane Baum

EDCO Board Peter Light

CASE (Concord Area Special Education Collaborative)  Peter Light
Danny's Place Youth Services Amy Krishnamurthy

More Information...

The Acton Health Insurance Trust allows Acton to self-insure and offer health insurance to its current and retired employees including employees of the Acton-Boxborough Regional School District. Mary Brolin currently serves as the school committee's representative to the trust.

The district pays into an Other Post Employment Benefits (OPEB) Trust, the funding source for future retiree benefits. As School Committee Chair, Amy Krishnamurthy sits on the OPEB Trust Fund Board of Advisors.

The Regionalization Financial Oversight Committee is monitoring the realization of savings in the wake of full regionalization. The committee is comprised of school committee member Mary Brolin, and members of both towns' administrations.

The Superintendent's Safety Task Force gathers data, facilitates communication, and identifies goals pertaining to school safety and security. The committee is composed of administration, local law enforcement, parent representatives, and school committee members Maya Minkin and Brigid Bieber.

The School Wellness Advisory Committee works to develop an action plan of priorities around helping create and maintain a school environment that enhances the learning and development of lifelong wellness practices. Brigid Bieber and Tessa McKinley serve as the school committee's representatives. 

The Acton-Boxborough Special Education Parent Advisory Council (SpEdPAC) advocates and advises the district on matters as they pertain to special education students. Diane Baum and Maya Minkin serve as the school committee's representatives. 

As a member of the EDCO Collaborative, our district is able to take advantage of a variety of programs and services. Our superintendent sits on the EDCO Board of Directors. Diane Baum serves on the board in an advisory capacity.

The Concord Area Special Education Collaborative (CASE) allows the Acton-Boxborough district to augment local services and provide a continuum of special education programs through collaboration with other school districts. Our superintendent serves as a member on the CASE Board.

Acton has a working group devoted to Minuteman Technical Institute, the current vocational school choice for students in Acton. To keep abreast of developments, Diane Baum serves on the group.

Danny's Place Youth Services is a community organization working to empower youth through life and leadership skills. Amy Krishnamurthy serves on the organization's Advisory Board.

**These roles were voted for the 2017-2018 school year at the August 1, 2017 school committee meeting, and revised on September 19, 2017.

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2018 West Corporation. All rights reserved.